Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer and Reflection for 6.18.12

Be wise in the way you act toward outsiders; make the most of every opportunity. Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.

Colossians 4:5, 6 NIV

Pray
Father touch my heart and mind so that each person I encounter I see and treat them as family. Let me see Your children as my brothers and sisters, and despite our differences and varying opinions, let me love them no less than I would a relative. Let me treat everyone with respect and dignity, and always leave people feeling full of Your light.

Let me be cautious but not critical, let me protect myself but not be disconnected to the point where no one can reach me. Let me see You in Your children. Those who would rather embrace the darkness instead of Your light, let me put them aside but never stop praying for them. Amen.

Reflection
Today I want to start off by saying a prayer for my middle Godson Kegdrick, who has outpatient surgery today. He’s a strong and brave 6-year-old and I know that God will see him through to being healthier, happier, and even braver. I pray that his parents and other family members remove their fear and replace it with faith, so only that positive energy flows to and through my Godson and the doctors that will be working with him. I love him and I love all of you!

Now let me share some quick nuggets that all of us should strive to live by each day. Treat even the most ignorant fool with dignity and respect. Carry yourself with grace, and be merciful even to the merciless. There’s a huge difference between being vigilant and being a vigilante. Just as there is a huge difference between being cautious and being critical and cynical of others. We are not to judge unless willing to be judged.

Seize every moment to reflect God’s light. Each person you encounter–smile–even if they don’t smile back, you never know the positive chain reaction that you might later cause.

Let me end with some great news—yesterday at 4:08pm I received news that I passed my doctoral comprehensive exams, and can now begin my dissertation process. I am now Natasha L. Foreman, PhD (Abd), MBA which means I’m almost done with my PhD (I have completed “All but Dissertation”)– and of course my MBA slides over one spot to make room for the big mama of degrees. I’m excited, I’m blessed, and I’m grateful. It has required me to get out of my comfort zone, face my fears, and accept challenges. Thank you to everyone who has supported me thus far–I know you will be with me through the finish line!

Have an amazing day and step out of your comfort zone…touch another heart and mind today!

Love,

Natasha

Copyright 2012. Natasha L. Foreman. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha L. Foreman. breakingbreadwithnatasha.blogspot.com
breakingbreadwithnatasha.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

