Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer and Reflection for 9.12.12

But just as he who called you is holy, so be holy in all you do; for it is written: “Be holy, because I am holy.”

1 Peter 1:15, 16 NIV

Pray
God I pray to You as Your grateful and humble servant. You know all of me because You created me. So You know those moments when I am anything but holy in Your sight. I ask for forgiveness for those times. I ask for forgiveness when I was weak and blinded, and chose to follow the world or the enemy, but not You. Mold out of me the old version of who I claimed to be, and mold into me the very person You want me to be.

I know I don’t need to do what the ‘crowd’ does to be accepted. I just need to do what You say, and follow the lead of Your beloved son, Jesus. I pray that those who fight and kill in Your name would remember Your commands and Your Word, and cease the ugliness. In Your name I pray. Amen.

Reflection
Let me first start off by apologizing for not publishing a daily scripture yesterday. I thought that I had, but I didn’t. Had I, I would have shared a prayer for all of us impacted by the devastating events that took place on September 11th in 2001, and what about the the plane crash the day earlier that was said to be unrelated—does no one pay homage to those who died, and to their loved ones left behind to mourn? Well yesterday I would have.

Had I slowed down and made sure that I posted yesterday, I would have wished my grandfather E.L. Stephens a happy birthday. He would have been 88 years young yesterday. He passed away in 1995, the day before Thanksgiving. A great man he was and is. He taught me numerous things, and I’m grateful that I can recall most of it. So let me just say, Happy Birthday Poppa!

Now let’s reflect on today’s message. I pray for those people who do evil in God’s name, for He is holy and expects us to also be holy. He is Love and that is a Love of all, and we are to reflect that Love. Jesus said that we’re to love every man, woman, and child no matter what. We are to love our enemies. Yet sadly, it is rare to find a person who does not believe in any violence, retaliation, or negative recourse on some level.

Some people claim to be nonviolent yet show violent tendencies, watch violent movies and play violent video games. They claim they wouldn’t seek revenge, yet accept in their minds a punishment of death or life imprisonment for a person who harmed them or a loved one. You have people who claim they wouldn’t take part in negative recourse towards another, yet let’s look in most work places and then draw a conclusion. Be honest and then make a decision where and how you want to be.

We have to work each day to become better in our walk, talk, and thinking. We have to weed out negative people and sources around us, and weed out our own negative thinking. We have to stop reacting. We need to stop over-thinking and over-analyzing, and start turning to God. I pray a great deal in my personal walk about my need to overcome these weaknesses.

Do you remember September 11, 2001?

Now remember when you woke up on September 12th—-did you ask yourself, “was it all a bad nightmare?” just to turn on the news or look at the newspaper and be rocked all over again by the horrific acts done in the name of God, with the goal of inflicting retaliatory pain and devastation? I did. Then I prayed. I continue to pray for the minority of religious zealots (in all denominations) who think they are doing God’s work. I pray for all militaries and governments who try to balance God in their daily walk. If God came first, truly, our world would be a better place.

Let’s never stop praying, believing, and knowing.

Love always,

Natasha

Copyright 2012. Natasha L. Foreman. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha L. Foreman. breakingbreadwithnatasha.blogspot.com
breakingbreadwithnatasha.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

