Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 9.18.12

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord.

“As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts…”

Isaiah 55:8, 9 NIV

Pray
Father I thank You for my blessings, and for those physical senses that allow me to take in Your land beyond comprehension and measurement, as You see fit. Thank You for my brain and mind, and for my heart.

I know that I have failed to purge myself from sinful ways and free my mind so that I can be better connected to Yours. I know there are times when I can be more loving, giving, considerate, tolerable, patient– and less cynical and flippant. I know better Father. I want to do better and be better. Help me Lord.

Reflection
Although our minds and hearts are connected to God, we will never truly know, understand, and feel what He does. We could however find more peace and tranquility in our lives if we stopped acting like two-legged donkeys with blinders on—stepping, kicking, and falling on our blessings.

We could stop, breathe, and think before we speak, so that we make sure that only our best thoughts are being conveyed.

We could think before keeping harmful secrets, reminding ourselves that we don’t like secrets kept from us. We could think of how devastated we would be if the person we love betrayed us, and maybe that would be motivation enough to not betray them. We could stop and think before negatively calling someone out of their name, thinking of how it would make us feel if someone did it to us.

We could think of what we could do with $1 and give it freely to the person asking for it, rather than contemplate how they will spend it. It is not our place to judge, it is God’s place. Leave that task to Him. Bless and be blessed.

Yesterday I gave a woman $5 although I had $2 or $3 I could have given her. I thought for less than 5 seconds whether to give her the smaller amount, and then shook it off and handed her the $5. She said, “God bless you” and I said the same to her. As I drove away the enemy tried to make me think of how she was going to use that money and how much she had probably already collected. I told the enemy to shut up and get back. It did.

What if we really started walking like Jesus? How would our world be?

Love,

Natasha

Copyright 2012. Natasha L. Foreman. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha L. Foreman. breakingbreadwithnatasha.blogspot.com
breakingbreadwithnatasha.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

