Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 12.20.12

For Christ’s love compels us, since we have reached this conclusion: If One died for all, then all died. And He died for all so that those who live should no longer live for themselves, but for the One who died for them and was raised.

2 Corinthians 5:14, 15 HCSB

Pray
Father I know it’s not all about me, but I have internal struggles with thinking that my experiences in life truly are all about me first, the other people impacted are second, and that You and Your son are the bubble everything falls inside.

But Father I don’t truly recognize the big picture that everything happens to make me realize, embrace and live one reality—that I’m to live for You and Your son and that’s all, my only mission and purpose in life.

So I pray that this message is molded into my mind, heart, spirit and soul, so that there is no question, doubt, hesitation, or forgetfulness. Let every move I make, every word I speak, and every thought produced be with a focus on You and Jesus.

I want to get out of this hamster wheel Lord, and I know it can only happen when I stop being consumed by self. Help me Father.

Reflection
We focus, stress over, and become obsessed about things that God can solve and we could see changed immediately, but in our self-absorption we don’t release these issues to God, not even in our prayers. We still think it’s all about us and all on us to figure it out.

Consider all the times in a day you say, “I” or “me” tied to some issue, problem, situation, or failure. Now think of the times when your focus is clearly about “I” and “me” when you are talking about successes and solutions. You can’t even count the times in one day, even today, can you? It’s because we are self-absorbed and self-consumed, and we don’t truly release all to God with our focus solely on Him and Jesus.

We feel like people would look at us crazy if we declared, “it was only made possible because of God” or if when faced with an insurmountable issue we stated, “God will make a way and will use us as He sees fit”.

No, we only want to mention God in church, in front of “believers”, in acceptance speeches, in songs and the pledge of allegiance, and in vain. Yes, for those of you who still haven’t stopped using profanity with God’s name, or using God’s name in any negative context, or with a lackadaisical tone—those are some examples of using His name in vain.

That is sadly our reality.

I am driven to remove myself as the catalyst in the equation, and focus on God and Jesus. For they are the two most important variables that make all else possible. My role is insignificant, yet every single day I walk around as though it is very significant.

Bills, debt, obligations, problems, strife—the solution to all is God, and we’re to look to Jesus and his examples to be freed from these burdens. The peace within is only possible when we let go of everything and hand it over to the Source. When we truly believe and have faith we will truly begin to live.

I don’t know about any of you, but I’m ready to breathe, live, and see!

Tomorrow I will be making an announcement about my Breaking Bread posts, no I’m not stopping them. I am making some changes that will bring even more of God’s love and Jesus’ guidance into our lives. I could wait another year, but I’m choosing to obey and walk. So expect an announcement tomorrow.

Today stop yourself each time you make something about you, and then see how you can shift things back to where they are supposed to be—back to God and Jesus. Sound like a plan? Let’s do this!

Love you all,

Natasha

Copyright 2012. Natasha L. Foreman. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha L. Foreman. breakingbreadwithnatasha.blogspot.com
breakingbreadwithnatasha.wordpress.com

Scripture quotations marked HCSB are taken from the Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003 by Holman Bible Publishers. Used by permission. Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Holman CSB®, and HCSB® are federally registered trademarks of Holman Bible Publishers.

Leave a Reply

