Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 1.1.13

Then the Jews surrounded Him and asked, “How long are You going to keep us in suspense? If You are the Messiah, tell us plainly.”

“I did tell you and you don’t believe,” Jesus answered them. “The works that I do in My Father’s name testify about Me. But you don’t believe because you are not My sheep. My sheep hear My voice, I know them, and they follow Me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish — ever! No one will snatch them out of My hand.

My Father, who has given them to Me, is greater than all. No one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand. The Father and I are one.”

John 10:24-30 HCSB

Pray
Thank You Father for waking me another day. Thank You for the continued blessings. Thank You for the messages You have sent to me through others. I hear them and will follow, and obey.

I am ready to take the next step. I am ready to push past fears and put my trust in You that You will take care of everything as You see fit, when You see fit. I will not doubt or question You, and if I begin to please stop me short as You know my heart Lord. I am walking Father with my arms stretched out and my eyes straight ahead. In Jesus’ name I humbly pray. Amen.

Reflection
The Jews (and others) questioned Jesus repeatedly in doubt, and no matter how many times he said and demonstrated who he was and to Whom he belonged, they were blinded by their fear, doubt, frustration, ignorance, and jaded beliefs. Even his disciples questioned him more than once. He showed them how to heal, yet they still had doubt.

Jesus followed God’s rules, plans, and ways—not man’s—and man in ignorance was too blind to see him for who he truly was.

Just as man struggles with this today.

There are millions of men, women, and children (based on what their families taught them) who don’t believe in Jesus and God’s works through him; and many more who just flat out don’t believe in God.

Why expect to see something when you don’t truly believe you will see it?

That’s the case with blessings and miracles. Being cynical is costly.

Jesus could be walking amongst us right now and we wouldn’t know, because most of us are doubters and conditional believers. Then you have millions who believe that he could only be walking amongst us in a grand parade of lights, cloud movements, and other extremes. That’s not what happened more than 2,000 years ago, so who is to say it won’t happen in the same casual fashion it did before? How do you know if the homeless guy you pass each day is not Jesus sitting back observing our behavior and how we treat his flock?

So if the Jews and others could doubt what they could see and touch—Jesus—and you doubt he could be walking amongst us today, then how could you possibly believe, obey and follow his Father whom you can’t see with human eyes?

This is something humans have struggled with for thousands of years. Look at the struggle that the Jews encountered for hundreds of years because they could not fully believe and obey. They were God’s chosen, yet they couldn’t walk completely in and by faith. Here we are today and guess what? We too are lost sheep in the wilderness. We keep forgetting what He’s done for us, what He’s doing for us, and what He can still do for us.

We don’t credit God for all healings; we call blessings “luck” or say that we “did the work”; we allow scientists to convince us that certain things couldn’t possibly be the works of God; and we’ll walk right past one of God’s less fortunate children without blinking an eye.

Look through the pages of the Bible, read your history books, watch the films and documentaries, and see for yourselves the twisted history of mankind–we want and we expect–but we don’t give 100% of ourselves over to God, then we have the nerve to wonder why we don’t get 100% of what we want when we want it.

That is our struggle and why we struggle. Aren’t you tired of struggling?

I am!

To gain my blessings I have to reach my hands outward. I have to move. I have to do something. So guess what I’m doing consistently every single day beginning today? Want to join me?

Let’s do this! Happy New Year!!!

Love always,

Natasha

Copyright 2013. Natasha L. Foreman. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha L. Foreman. breakingbreadwithnatasha.blogspot.com
breakingbreadwithnatasha.wordpress.com

Scripture quotations marked HCSB are taken from the Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003 by Holman Bible Publishers. Used by permission. Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Holman CSB®, and HCSB® are federally registered trademarks of Holman Bible Publishers.

2 thoughts on “Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 1.1.13

Leave a Reply

