Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 5.20.13

I will praise You because I have been remarkably and wonderfully made. Your works are wonderful, and I know ⌊this⌋ very well….

Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my concerns. See if there is any offensive way in me; lead me in the everlasting way.

Psalms 139:14, 23, 24 HCSB

Pray
Father purge from me all that is displeasing to You. Help me to be better, stronger, more courageous, and more giving, loving and forgiving. Mold me to be a better servant, more patient and understanding, and less inclined to interfere in areas that You control. Open my eyes to see and unclench my fists so that I can let go, and finally live. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Reflection
Are you sick and tired of being sick and tired? Are you worn out from things not going as planned? Well there’s a saying that, “if you want to make God laugh, tell Him your plans” which simply means, it doesn’t matter what your plans in life God is the ultimate decision maker. We keep getting in the way and we don’t realize it. We keep trying to control our life and we don’t understand that God controls all. We are given opportunities to make decisions along our path, but He is the one to move mountains, calm storms, raise valleys, and protect you while you’re in one.

I think of things like this—last week I went horseback riding for about two hours one day, and upon dismounting from a very active and strong-willed horse, I realized that I had cut my hand pretty deep, probably while holding the reigns. That’s how life can be sometimes when we try to control things that are stronger than us, or that we’re unfamiliar with— we sometimes get hurt. Sometimes we have to learn to lighten up our grip on those reigns, and other times we have to just let go.

I just read something that hit home with me as it concerned my own life and interferences in it, as well as loved ones that I know who keep ramming their heads into life’s walls. So I have decided to extend this reflection to include the poignant words shared by Joel and Victoria Osteen. I hope that they also hit home with you. I hope that today’s message reinforces what we have discussed and prayed about this year and over the years that I have been posting for Breaking Bread with Natasha. I hope that this double-dosage today will help each of us let go and let God.

Enjoy this added bonus from Joel and Victoria Osteen:

We all have dreams that we’re believing God for and situations we want to see turn around. Too often, we put God in a box and tell Him how to do it, when to do it, and who to use to do it. We’ve got it all figured out: how God is going to bring us out of debt, how He is going to change our loved one, how we’re going to meet the right person. We pray that things will unfold according to our plan. But we have to realize that God’s ways are not our ways. He is supernatural. His ways are higher than our ways. When God does something, it may not always make sense to our minds. If you have preconceived ideas of how you’re going to be promoted and how you’re going to get well, it can limit what God can do. You have to stay open. You may only see one way that it could happen, but God always has an option you can’t see. Why don’t you surrender your plans to Him today? Put your trust in Him because He is faithful. Let Him direct your steps because His ways are higher, and He knows how to lead you into the life of blessing He has for you.

Are you one step closer to letting go? We can’t keep trying to grab ahold like the sides of a pool. Don’t get your hand cut like mine did last week.

Natasha

Copyright 2013. Natasha L. Foreman. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha L. Foreman, unless otherwise noted. breakingbreadwithnatasha.com

Scripture quotations marked HCSB are taken from the Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003 by Holman Bible Publishers. Used by permission. Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Holman CSB®, and HCSB® are federally registered trademarks of Holman Bible Publishers.

Leave a Reply

