Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 5.31.13

The eunuch replied to Philip, “I ask you, who is the prophet saying this about — himself or another person? ” So Philip proceeded to tell him the good news about Jesus, beginning from that Scripture. As they were traveling down the road, they came to some water. The eunuch said, “Look, there’s water! What would keep me from being baptized? ” And Philip said, “If you believe with all your heart you may.” And he replied, “I believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God.”

Then he ordered the chariot to stop, and both Philip and the eunuch went down into the water, and he baptized him. When they came up out of the water, the Spirit of the Lord carried Philip away, and the eunuch did not see him any longer. But he went on his way rejoicing. Philip appeared in Azotus, and he was traveling and evangelizing all the towns until he came to Caesarea.

Acts 8:34-40 HCSB

Pray
Father I want to do right by You. I want to work hard, give 100 percent effort in all things, be proactive, faithful, committed, and obedient at all times. I want to be the servant that You have called me to be. I want to share my testimony with the world about Your love, how You have healed me, saved me, and protected me. I want to be more like Jesus. I want to love and respect all that I encounter. Mold out of me my fears. Help me to not procrastinate or be late. Mold out the stubbornness and hard-headedness within me. Cleanse my heart, mind, and my mouth. Keep redirecting me Lord. I humbly pray these things in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Reflection
On Wednesday I first shared this story about Philip and the eunuch. Both men not only listened and paid attention to God, but they were obedient without question. Today we look at their quick journey together and its purpose. God brought them together for a reason—to share and spread His Word, to further build His Kingdom, and to ensure that Jesus was implanted in the hearts and minds of the people.

Today most of Ethiopia is made up of Christians (more than 62 percent) in a country of over 80 million people, and I smile because I reflect on stories in the Bible such as this one and others, of a people who believe so passionately in God and Jesus, in the Word, and in the prophets and messengers that God sent to deliver His Word.

Think about it, they weren’t God’s “chosen”, they weren’t the children of Israel, but they believed that through their belief, worship, praise, and servitude that they too would be saved, receive abundant blessings, and have a better life. They believe that God is our Father and that Jesus is our savior, and the way to the Father—just like the eunuch proclaimed to Philip.

Are you as committed to serving Christ, sharing God’s love and Word, and being the blessing that you want to receive? Are you committed to learning and teaching, being open to not only allow a stranger in to your space but to embrace them? Are you committed to walking each day with faith (not fear) in your heart and mind?

If you’re not then ask yourself “why?”, and consider what is holding you back. Is it fear? Is it a lack of knowledge? Pray for clarity and a release from the thing(s) holding you back.

If you are already committed, then take the next step to push yourself further so that you are better prepared and more open for what the future will bring your way. We can never be comfortable where we are, for growth is never stagnant.

Happy Friday family! Remember that tomorrow I will recap this week’s messages for those of you who missed one or more days, or simply want to go back and re-read any of the posts. Feel free to share these with others, and also consider sharing your feedback and reflections with me by posting a comment.

I also welcome shared scriptures, prayers, and reflections that you have written or read from other people. We are coming together to share God’s love through the Bible. We are not here to pass judgment, criticize, involve ourselves in prophesy, or convert. We are to serve and leave the Boss’s job to Him. Have an amazing weekend family. Chat tomorrow!

Love,

Natasha

Copyright 2013. Natasha L. Foreman. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha L. Foreman, unless otherwise noted. breakingbreadwithnatasha.com

Scripture quotations marked HCSB are taken from the Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003 by Holman Bible Publishers. Used by permission. Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Holman CSB®, and HCSB® are federally registered trademarks of Holman Bible Publishers.

Author: Natasha

I'm a servant leader, consultant, educator, author, blogger and podcaster. My SEEK HIM 3-volume book series and workbooks can be purchased through Bookshop.org, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Walmart, and other global retailers. Check out my publisher's website for details: DomeLifePublishing.com Support local bookstores by shopping online with Bookshop.org

Leave a comment