Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 7.19.13

For even if there are so-called gods, whether in heaven or on earth — as there are many “gods” and many “lords” — yet for us there is one God, the Father. All things are from Him, and we exist for Him. And there is one Lord, Jesus Christ. All things are through Him, and we exist through Him.

1 Corinthians 8:5, 6 HCSB

Pray
Father thank You for loving me and thank You for the gift of Your son Jesus Christ. I am grateful for waking up today, for the senses that help me remain connected and aware of my Earthly surroundings, and I’m grateful for the ability to discern right from wrong. I never want to be separate from You at any point, and I pray that You mold out of me those things You find undesirable, and mold into me the things You see fit. I pray these things while giving You praise in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Reflection
We exist FOR God and THROUGH Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior. That explanation and our lives can’t get much simpler than that. Our primary purpose is to serve God and build His Kingdom, while helping the least of His children. If we can’t get that mastered then why do we feel that we should know and attempt to accomplish our so-called human purpose?

I remember a conversation that I had with someone I used to know who told me his grandmother hadn’t discovered her purpose until she was in her 60s or 70s, so it wasn’t a big deal that he was clueless about his. I was stunned.

I’ve known since I was a child that my purpose in life is to serve and to be a helper, and my journey has consisted of finding ways to serve and be of service. My earthly desires are secondary to that, and because of this understanding I’m never surprised that when I lose focus on my purpose that God humbles me quickly to my knees.

Even if I’m not wealthy by human standards I will always be wealthy by God and Jesus’ standards. I am never poor, broke, or broken with God and Christ in my life.

How do you feel about yours? Send me a message or post a comment below. Let’s chat!

Happy Friday family. Remember to work like it’s Tuesday!

Love your sister in Christ,

Natasha

Copyright 2013. Natasha L. Foreman. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha L. Foreman, unless otherwise noted. breakingbreadwithnatasha.com

Scripture quotations marked HCSB are taken from the Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003 by Holman Bible Publishers. Used by permission. Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Holman CSB®, and HCSB® are federally registered trademarks of Holman Bible Publishers.

Leave a Reply

