Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 8.19.13

Lord my God, I cried to You for help, and You healed me.

Psalms 30:2 HCSB

Pray
Thank You for answering my prayers, even when they don’t arrive as soon as I want them, they always arrive right on time. Father thank You for the blessings that come during the wait period, that I don’t expect but I am most appreciative for because they help even when I don’t always see the immediate results.

Father heal me of my inflictions. Heal me of any physical, spiritual, and emotional bruises, scars, and injuries. Heal me from the feelings of loss and inadequacy. Heal me Father. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Reflection
We all have wounds, and scars that are either fresh or trying to heal. We have some wounds that we thought were healed that are easily picked at and made to seem fresh again. I’m not just talking about physical wounds and scars, but emotional and spiritual ones also. We need God to help us heal.

Some of us have regrets, fears, frustrations and doubt that we need to be healed and saved from by God. Pray for healing. Pray to be made whole and complete in God’s image. Pray for those struggling with the same, similar, or entirely different issues than yours. Pray that peace overcomes them, and pray with as much or more intensity as you would for yourself.

Yesterday I injured myself on of all things, a scooter—yep, and at low speed—hilarious, although the pain isn’t. The physical, spiritual and emotional journey the past 19 hours has been interesting and eye-opening, as I went through intense moments of sadness and tears, then frustration, and sprinkled throughout were times when I laughed so hard it hurt. There are so many things that run through our minds when we are hurting. I think the biggest thing or question that pops up each time is, “why?” followed by, “what could I have done differently?” and then the remaining questions soon follow.

It’s done. It is what it is. I can’t change what happened. I can’t change the fact that I’m injured, sore, and in pain. I just am. The most important thing to consider and focus on is where I put my trust for healing, and being grateful that I’m alive and not as injured as I could have been. Yesterday, after I got through the shock, I began praying and then I began typing my post for Sunday Sermon Share Day. I relaxed myself and then later returned to my vacation residence to begin cooking dinner. Around 5am this morning I awoke, had trouble going back to sleep, and couldn’t find a comfortable position (that didn’t put pressure on my injuries). Immediately a gospel song popped into my head, followed by three prayers, and eventually I was relaxed and asleep. In that moment I had let go.

Healing can be instantaneous or take time, it has a lot to do with our mindset and our relationship with our Father-Mother God, and our walk with Jesus. It also has a lot to do with our weakness to always meddle and try to get in the way of things. I’m working on getting out of the way. I’m working on believing immediately that God has an issue handled. I’m working on not reacting but immediately responding through prayer. I’m working on me. Are you working on you?

Let me wrap up this post honoring a person who ironically and thankfully helped to influence a positive change in me. Today is the birthday of the late Nathaniel Dwayne Hale, Sr. (Nate). Someone who for more than 16 years served as a cheerleader and protector of me at times, and a thorn in my side and splinter between my toes at other times. He passed away two years ago at the young age of 42, leaving behind children, his mother and father, and his siblings. He left behind people he loved, and people who didn’t know how quite to genuinely love him, nor he them. He also left behind catalogues of music for the world to enjoy and remember him by, and tons of pictures and memories. He left behind a legacy tied to music that has been etched into history, and as long as we remember and share this legacy, it will live forever.

I know he is at peace. I know that the struggles and pains in life that he suffered are gone. His worries are gone. He is free of his limitations and secured in his role as a child of God. It doesn’t matter the on and off drama he was involved in. It doesn’t matter any one person’s perception of him. What matters is what God says and believes. I made my peace with Nate, and he left this level of existence knowing my heart and how I felt about him as a person, a man, and a child of God. He knew how I valued the years spent. There was no doubt in either of our minds. There was healing.

God gave Nate talents that he shared with the world, and yes, in our minds we feel he left too soon, but I have to believe that God is now using him for something greater. How many of you are using your God-given talents right now? Those gifts that manifest in times of need should not be taken lightly, as they were assigned to you, and can easily be taken from you. As the old adage goes, “Don’t put off ’til tomorrow what you can do today!”

We each must deal with our issues, issues with ourselves and others, and issues that we have with God. Either we deal with them each day or we deal with them during our last days here on Earth. Our refusal to deal with these issues can’t possibly end pretty. It can’t possibly be a peaceful exit. Pray for healing, yours and others. End your conflicts. Let go of your grudges. Stop carrying around issues that you can’t take with you in the spiritual realm. Stop picking at old wounds. Stop getting in the way and delaying the healing of current ones. Take the next step in healing. May God continue to bless and heal you. I love you all. Happy Monday to you!

Sending you love from afar,

Natasha

Copyright 2013. Natasha L. Foreman. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha L. Foreman, unless otherwise noted. breakingbreadwithnatasha.com

Scripture quotations marked HCSB are taken from the Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003 by Holman Bible Publishers. Used by permission. Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Holman CSB®, and HCSB® are federally registered trademarks of Holman Bible Publishers.

Leave a Reply

