Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 8.21.13

This is the account of Noah and his family. Noah was a righteous man, blameless among the people of his time, and he walked faithfully with God.

Genesis 6:9 NIV

Pray
Father thank You for another day. Thank You for the physical and spiritual healing that is taking place in my life. Thank You for the molding process that is making me better, stronger, wiser, and closer to You. Thank You for the vision to see things clearer, and a growing ability to discern truth from fiction, darkness from light, and real from fake. Father I pray that even if things don’t go my way and don’t go as I plan, that You continue to take me where You need me to be—because Your plans always outweigh and overrule mine.

Even if it hurts and I lose relationships, continue me on my path. I want to always be faithful to You and place You first in my life. I want to be obedient like Noah, even when things seem crazy and impossible, I want to be committed to Your mission Father. Let me see, hear, and experience all of the things both good and bad that will help make me a better servant to You. In Jesus’ name I humbly pray. Amen.

Reflection
People have always said that my intuition and gift of discernment is extremely strong and accurate. When I was a child kids used to think I had psychic abilities. I just follow my “gut” and that small voice inside (God) more than others. A great part of my life is influenced by energy, both good and bad. I gravitate to or run from people based on energy—theirs, mine, and how they connect.

As I’ve become more committed on my walk with God and Jesus, my gifts have also become more reliable—even when it hurts. God always reveals the truth, it is up to us to see and embrace it. We have to be willing to walk through those opened doors while also be willing to close and lock doors behind us. We have to be willing to embrace people of light, while also lovingly walking away from those who struggle with and concede to temptation and other pits of darkness. We must obey God when He says, “steer clear of that person”, “don’t mess with that”, or “walk away”.

Noah was considered crazy then as he would be now. But Noah wasn’t concerned with what others said, thought, and did—he obediently followed God. Noah had to leave behind people he knew and I’m sure even some people he cared about because God was specific as to which persons he could bring upon the ark. Noah put God first, his family second, and everything else came after. It is clear from reading about Noah that he was obviously a righteous man, took care of his family not just financially but emotionally and spiritually. Noah was faithful and honest to his wife and children, and protected them from potential harm.

Noah did not allow outside influences to sway him from his commitment to his family, and most importantly, his commitment to God. His character was seen in and through the rest of his family, and that’s why God told him to have his wife, children, and their families aboard the ark. If there were any “bad seeds” within that family, God would have weeded them out and told Noah who specifically could not board the ark.

This is an awesome story about character and how we live our lives. Think about how you live your life. Where are your priorities? How committed are you to our Father and our Savior? How committed are you to your family?Lies and secrets to them are just like trying to tell a lie or keep a secret from God.

God is always watching, and how we conduct ourselves, even when we think no one is watching, matters. You can’t keep a secret from God, and even the secrets you try to keep from other humans will eventually be revealed. God brings balance to all things, all people, and all circumstances. As my dear friend Shasta always tells me, God doesn’t live in or deal in chaos.

We can not parse words with God or Jesus. We can not negotiate terms that are favorable to us. Are you faithful, committed, truthful, and honorable? There are no gray areas with God, only clearly outlined areas that we have to choose where we will stand. You can’t straddle the fence. You can’t have one foot in one section, and the other foot in another section. We must live with both feet securely planted. My dad always told me that the closer we get to God the more we are tempted by mortal mind (the enemy). It’s like the more you become adjusted to living better, doing better, and being better, the more trappings and distractions pop up.

What if Noah had been distracted? What if Noah hadn’t been fully committed and obedient to God? How many of us are risking our lives or livelihoods, or that of our family members because we aren’t obeying God? How many of us are easily lured by temptation because we aren’t committed to doing right by God?

Will you be like Noah or choose to do things your way? Is it all about God or all about you? Think about it. If this message hits you hard or stings, then it was definitely meant for you to read, reflect upon, and pray about. I love you all!

Sending you love from afar,

Natasha

Copyright 2013. Natasha L. Foreman. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha L. Foreman, unless otherwise noted. breakingbreadwithnatasha.com

Leave a Reply

