Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 8.27.13

See to it that no one repays evil for evil to anyone, but always pursue what is good for one another and for all.

1 Thessalonians 5:15 HCSB

Pray
Father thank You for this day and for the humbling experiences. Thank You for the blessings and the lessons, those learned and those I’m still struggling with. Thank You for loving me and caring for me even when I don’t always love and care for myself fully or enough. Thank You for the heart of forgiveness and compassion, and for molding me to forgive and let go sooner so that I don’t have to carry around the burden of my issues. Please continue to give me a cleansing breath to move past situations and drama so that I have stamina for my next task or adventure.

I pray that all those I encounter see Jesus and feel You inside of me, and if they see and feel anything else, please mold it out of me. I pray these things in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Reflection
I can’t say that I will always be level-headed enough to not react negatively to negative people and negative circumstances, but I can say that I will always try. I’ve grown to believe that the best revenge is living well so that I don’t have to waste any time or effort attempting to get back at someone for doing or saying something mean to me.

I know that when it comes to politics and government that when it comes to protecting the people that make up nations, it does not always sound feasible to “turn the other cheek” when your citizens are attacked, bombed, murdered, tortured, etc. But one thing that I have noticed is that even with the horrible events that have taken place around the world over the past 30 years, for the most part, countries have done a better job at thinking before reacting and responding to situations. An attack by individuals or groups has not triggered full out governmental attacks on entire nations as a response. We have not been motivated to lean towards an “eye for an eye”, at least not based on media and recent historical accounts. We have come a long way in this country and in many parts of the world, but we still have a long way to go.

Of course this isn’t true on the street level with local gangs and thugs who casually react to circumstances with total disregard to others, especially the innocent victims caught by stray bullets, etc. I pray for these lost and hurt children. Their pain affects all of us.

I pray that more people lean more towards peace and forgiveness and are motivated to walk away from hate and revenge. Let’s work on teaching our children to be better, and let’s work on role modeling a more righteous way—following the example of our best role model—Jesus Christ.

Sending love from Washington, DC!

Natasha

Copyright 2013. Natasha L. Foreman. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha L. Foreman, unless otherwise noted. breakingbreadwithnatasha.com

Scripture quotations marked HCSB are taken from the Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003 by Holman Bible Publishers. Used by permission. Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Holman CSB®, and HCSB® are federally registered trademarks of Holman Bible Publishers.

Leave a Reply

