Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 10.1.13

But you, dear friends, as you build yourselves up in your most holy faith and pray in the Holy Spirit, keep yourselves in the love of God, expecting the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ for eternal life. Have mercy on those who doubt;

Jude 1:20-22 HCSB

Pray
I won’t ask for more than what You see fit to give me Lord. I pray for strength, courage, confidence, patience, discernment, perseverance, and the ability to forgive. Father may I see and embrace all of your children as a You do.

I pray that I learn to seize every moment of opportunity that You present. May my lessons build my character, wisdom, and worth. May I live my purpose on purpose. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

Reflection
The title and role of a Christian is a heavy burden to carry. Our role model is Jesus Christ, and he set a high benchmark that we are expected to emulate. The vast majority of us fail every single day, and mostly because we fail to love ourselves and others as God loves us.

I used to have a difficult time forgiving others. Now I have learned to forgive and move on, and yes, sometimes that means moving on without those people in my life, but I do so without carrying the burden of holding a grudge and I free them from my burden.

I also used to be one of those people who wouldn’t discuss two sensitive topics in public, religion and politics. The reason I avoided these topics is because people are so passionately blinded by both that they can actually become belligerent and even violent all in the name of their religion or political views. In my walk over the years I have become more comfortable and confident speaking with people about both topics because I have learned to speak and listen in love, and not on a soapbox only focused on my beliefs, or feeling like I have to speak above a whisper timidly fearing attack.

It’s my spiritual growth that allows me to feel comfortable with all people regardless of how they look, sound, speak, act, or even smell (yes, some people disconnect with others because of these shallow reasons). God is in all of us, we see Him more in others because they have their filters removed and embrace the Light within.

Ask yourself if people see God fully in you.

Do you walk around frowned up, dark and gloomy, whining and complaining, harboring on the past, holding grudges, cussing about what someone did or said to you? Do you blame others for why you are in a rut? Do you find yourself gossiping, bad mouthing, or nitpicking others, sometimes for long periods of time? Do you find yourself sitting at home a lot, disconnected from socializing and experiencing new things? Do you make excuses for your overweight body, lack of social life, and why you are either in the same miserable place you were last year (or worse)?

If you do any of these things then how can anyone possibly see the Light of God within you? How are you possibly loving yourself and others as God loves you? Think about it and then do something to change your circumstances, and the image you are portraying to the world.

Love always,

Natasha

Copyright 2013. Natasha Foreman Bryant. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha Foreman Bryant, unless otherwise noted.
breakingbreadwithnatasha.com

Scripture quotations marked HCSB are taken from the Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003 by Holman Bible Publishers. Used by permission. Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Holman CSB®, and HCSB® are federally registered trademarks of Holman Bible Publishers.

Leave a Reply

