Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 10.8.13

A very large crowd spread their robes on the road; others were cutting branches from the trees and spreading them on the road. Then the crowds who went ahead of Him and those who followed kept shouting: Hosanna to the Son of David! He who comes in the name of the Lord is the blessed One! Hosanna in the highest heaven! When He entered Jerusalem, the whole city was shaken, saying, “Who is this? ” And the crowds kept saying, “This is the prophet Jesus from Nazareth in Galilee! ”

Matthew 21:8-11 HCSB

Pray

Father let me have the discernment and foresight needed to navigate through life, realizing that there will be times when I will see in advance something unfavorable but realize that I may have to walk on the path in order to reach the place You have chosen for me.

Father give me the strength and compassion to accept others even when I know they have bad intentions, will falter, or will eventually betray (or disappoint me). I pray for these gifts because I know that no matter what they are a Your children, and You are working to mold them just as You work to mold me. I trust that You will always protect me and guide me, and that You will make sure that I both see and feel Your Light always.

I pray for these things as Your humble servant and a follower of Christ. Amen.

Reflection

Think about this—-many of the same people who cried out “Hosana” to Jesus, and spread their robes and branches across the ground for him to cross, were also the same ones yelling, “crucify him!” later. It’s as though Jesus was on a road show and they were expecting him to do some electrifying circus act to prove who he was and to Whom he belonged, and because he wouldn’t pull out the fireworks to their level of amusement, they quickly turned on him and called him a fraud.

He was already dealing with plots to kill him (because so-called religious leaders were insecure and intimidated by him and his ability to heal and restore people, proving that he was the Messiah) and then he had to deal with townspeople begging for saving and healing, which meant he risked being murdered every time he stepped into a town. He couldn’t refuse to help God’s children.This truly was a double-edge sword. This is the best example of a person getting cut no matter which option they choose. And we think we have it hard!

Now think about this—Jesus knew in advance that this would happen as it had already been prophesied. Jesus knew what was going to happen but allowed things to unfold so that he could fulfill the prophesy. He didn’t disrupt things, alter them in any way, or try to get God to ‘fix’ things so that he didn’t have to go through the pain, humiliation, torture, and physical death that he knew awaited him.

I won’t lie, I don’t think I could continue walking down a path that I knew no one else could endure or survive. I don’t think I have the courage to walk knowing that what awaited me was a cruel and brutal death, and that along the way I would be ridiculed and tormented. Talk about being a radical. Jesus is the epitome of radical thinking and living. He knew as a child that he was going to be ridiculed, tormented, betrayed multiple times, crucified, and left to die—but he continued living his purpose focused on God’s mission.

What would you do if faced with the same circumstances?

Love always,

Natasha

 

Copyright 2013. Natasha Foreman Bryant. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha Foreman Bryant, unless otherwise noted. breakingbreadwithnatasha.com

Scripture quotations marked HCSB are taken from the Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003 by Holman Bible Publishers. Used by permission. Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Holman CSB®, and HCSB® are federally registered trademarks of Holman Bible Publishers.

Leave a Reply

