Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 11.25.13

“I tell you the truth,” He said. “This poor widow has put in more than all of them. For all these people have put in gifts out of their surplus, but she out of her poverty has put in all she had to live on.”
 
 Luke 21:3, 4 HCSB
 
 Pray
 Father may I give of myself and my belongings as the widow. May I give even when I don’t think that I have anything left to give. May I have the patience and compassion to see in others Your love and Light, and may I do so with the humbleness of the widow. May I always see my cup as overflowed, and be willing to share my blessings with those who need it most.
 
 May I be quick to forgive even the most disgraceful. May I leave judgment even of the treacherous only to You. Even when it is time for me to end a relationship because it has reached its season, or fulfilled its reason, may I do so quickly and with love.
 
 Keep my head and heart on the right path, never lowering myself to the depths of others who are in pain, but rather may I share Your Truth and pray for them that they might find and embrace Your peace. Each day may I empty myself and still feel full. In Jesus’ name. Amen.
 
 Reflection
 Reject and rebuke the sense of entitlement that plagues many of our nations, communities, and families. The humble are not predators. God’s servants are not to be bullies and antagonists. God’s servants don’t succumb to the darkness of revenge. God’s servants don’t try to humiliate, embarrass, or de-dignify others.
 
 Look through the Bible and find the stories of various widows who humbly served and gave of themselves—their gifts and service far-exceeded the elitists and wealthy. Even in loss they were wealthier and more blessed than their so-called counterparts. Even when others mistreated them, ridiculed them, called them names, and tried to embarrass them, these women kept their heads up and walked with grace. We all have a lot to learn from them.
 
 Love always,
 
 Natasha
 
 Copyright 2013. Natasha Foreman Bryant. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha Foreman Bryant, unless otherwise noted.
 breakingbreadwithnatasha.com
 
 
 Scripture quotations marked HCSB are taken from the Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003 by Holman Bible Publishers. Used by permission. Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Holman CSB®, and HCSB® are federally registered trademarks of Holman Bible Publishers.
 
 

Leave a Reply

