Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 12.30.13

So they are no longer two, but one. God has joined them together, so no one should separate them.”
 
 Matthew 19:6 ERV
 
 Pray
 Father please protect what You have brought together. Protect this union from outsiders, from temptation, and from the enemy. Protect this union and others from fear and doubt, envy and jealousy, insecurity, and from the frustration that comes from hard work. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.
 
 Reflection
 I’ve been hearing more stories of divorce, separation, and marital troubles, and it truly bothers me because marriage is very sacred in my opinion. I entered marriage with my eyes and heart wide open, and with an understanding of what it means to me, what the Bible says it means to God, and what my vows mean to my life and well being. I pray for my marriage and I pray for other married couples. I also pray for those who are contemplating marriage.
 
 Marriage should not be entered into lightly and casually. It is a commitment that binds two people together for as long as they live. People should not marry if they won’t remain spiritually, emotionally, physically, and sexually committed to their partner. People should not marry if they don’t want to answer to anyone else, be accountable to someone, and have to put someone before them.
 
 If you aren’t the monogamous type, don’t get married. You can’t occasionally or frequently “slip up” and commit adultery and think that it is acceptable to God or your spouse. There are no “passes” for adulterers. There is a reason that this sin is listed as one of God’s commandments. It is as serious as committing murder.
 
 Marriage won’t make a strayer faithful. Marriage won’t turn a liar into an honorable and truthful person. That’s like a person thinking that getting pregnant will make an unstable relationship solid, or make a person want to commit to a relationship.
 
 If your marriage has been (or is being) challenged don’t run, don’t tear it apart—pray and work. If one of you are being tempted to stray (or you have strayed) from your marriage, cease your outside engagement. If your marriage is being attacked by an outsider(s), distance yourself from them, and cut off all ties. Stop calling, emailing, texting, speaking to, seeing, or spending time with the other person(s).
 
 Whatever you feel or believe is lacking in your marriage, work together to fill in the “gaps” with the missing components or with something of equal or greater value. Surround yourself with people who support your union and will serve as “blockers” of attacks by the enemy and outsiders.
 
 Change your thinking then your ways.
 
 Today I read a quote that made me smile, and I hope to reflect on it for as long as God gives me life. Enjoy!
 
  “I will remember always that marriage, like life, is a journey – not a destination – and that its treasures are found not just at the end but all along the way.” -Anon.
 
 We only have today and tomorrow left in 2013. Why wait until 2014 to begin walking on the straightened path? Why not begin today.
 
 Love always,
 
 Natasha
 
 
 Copyright 2013. Natasha Foreman Bryant. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha Foreman Bryant, unless otherwise noted. breakingbreadwithnatasha.com
 
 
 
 

Author: Natasha

I'm a servant leader, consultant, educator, author, blogger and podcaster. My SEEK HIM 3-volume book series and workbooks can be purchased through Bookshop.org, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Walmart, and other global retailers. Check out my publisher's website for details: DomeLifePublishing.com Support local bookstores by shopping online with Bookshop.org

Leave a comment