Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 2.25.14

Jesus answered, “If anyone loves Me, he will keep My word. My Father will love him, and We will come to him and make Our home with him. The one who doesn’t love Me will not keep My words. The word that you hear is not Mine but is from the Father who sent Me.

John 14:23, 24 HCSB

Pray
Father I have come to realize that I can’t possibly love you 100 percent because I do not obey you 100 percent. I can see that my heart has turned away from You because I’m not giving 100% of it to you. I want to return to You fully Father.

I thank You for Your love and patience as I work to come back to You. I thank Your son Jesus for the sacrifice of love that he paid for me. I want to do right by him and by You. In Jesus’ name I humbly pray. Amen.

Reflection
Jesus was quite clear in his teachings and declarations. He clearly said that if anyone loved him they would obey his teaching and if anyone loved God, his Father, our Father, then we would obey His commands.

There is no gray area here. It’s not possible to straddle the fence. Either we all obey and love Them or we disobey and we don’t love Them. That is a very big pill to swallow I have to admit.

I read that we have a tendency as humans to try to make excuses for why we don’t truly love God and Jesus. We try to rationalize and say that it’s not that we don’t love God it’s that we have difficulty obeying Him. But the Scripture is clear. Jesus’ teaching is clear. God’s command is clear.

My husband is known for saying that, “to rationalize is to tell rational lies,” and I have to admit that I have been rationalizing and lying to myself and to God for far too long.

If I am not obeying Him immediately and 100 percent of the time, then I can’t possibly truly love Him. I can’t be a true follower of Christ if I’m not obeying Christ. It hurts to say that. It hurts to say and read these words. It hurts to admit that even in my daily walk, sharing in this blog, and trying my best as a servant leader, I am still disconnected from God. I have departed from God.

Jesus says, God says, the Bible says:

Love each other as Christ loves us.
– Forgive others so that we can be forgiven.
– Pray daily and often
– Tithe
– Practice justice, mercy, and faith
– Actively making disciples of the nations, even those around our community, and teaching them to practice all that Christ has commanded.
– Witness about Christ to the world
– Displaying unity with other believers in your church, other churches, and Christians in other denominations

Consider Jesus’ commands, teachings, and what God expects from us, and then ask yourself are you 100 percent obedient every single day?

Question of the Day:
I have fallen short and I see the areas. Where have you fallen short? What are you willing to do to come back to your true love, your first love, our Father?

Feel free to share your answers, prayers, comments, and reflections in the comment section below. You can also send me an email at: breakingbreadwithnatasha@gmail.com

I love you all!

Natasha

Copyright 2014. Natasha Foreman Bryant. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha Foreman Bryant, unless otherwise noted. breakingbreadwithnatasha.com Copyright 2009-2013 under Natasha L. Foreman, unless otherwise noted.

Scripture quotations marked HCSB are taken from the Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003 by Holman Bible Publishers. Used by permission. Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Holman CSB®, and HCSB® are federally registered trademarks of Holman Bible Publishers.

Leave a Reply

