Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 3.6.14

The Lord will make you the head and not the tail; you will only move upward and never downward if you listen to the Lord your God’s commands I am giving you today and are careful to follow them. Do not turn aside to the right or the left from all the things I am commanding you today, and do not go after other gods to worship them.
 
 Deuteronomy 28:13, 14 HCSB
 
 Pray
 Father reading the verses that follow verse 14 is very exhausting and scary. The repercussions from constantly ignoring You, constantly sinning, and constantly refusing to repent are terrifying to visualize. I can no longer bring myself to say that these punishments were only slated for thousands of years ago during the “Old Testament times”, because that would be ignorant and beyond naive. Too much is happening in the world today and whether it is from disobedience or just oversight (which could also be disobedience), humans have to take responsibility for what is happening to Your land, water, air, people, plants, and animals. Father please forgive us. Forgive our waste, arrogance, greed, and lack of care and humility.
 
 Father I pray to You today to make me and my fellow humans more sensitive and connected with You so that we are able to distinguish Your voice and respond immediately. Although there are times when it gets painful, I am grateful for the correction—it proves to me that You love me and have not given up on me. Thank You.
 
 Father I also ask that You would please give us the ability to discern between spiritual warfare and Your discipline, and please shed light on the reasons we are experiencing one or both. I humbly ask these things in Jesus’ name because I desire to be right with You, and that all of Your children are properly aligned with You. There is no better life than with You Father. Amen.
 
 Reflection
 When you hear His voice, answer, then respond accordingly. Our obedience is vital to our relationship with Him. We can’t stand to be at odds with family and friends. Imagine a life lacking God’s loving presence. I don’t want to visualize that. So I am now committed that each day I will work to listen and obey—get out of my way, and let God direct me.
 
 How about you, what is your commitment?
 
 
 Questions of the Day
 1. When you read the Old Testament do you find yourself saying, “but that was then, God changed in the New Testament”?
 
 2. What similarities do you see between what took place during the days of the Old Testament and current day occurrences?
 
 
 Feel free to share your answers, prayers, comments, and reflections in the comment section below. You can also send me an email at: breakingbreadwithnatasha@gmail.com Please also feel free to share this post with others. We’re never quite sure who needs to hear and see what, and when! May God continue to bless and keep all of us.
 
 Love always,
 
 Natasha
 
 Copyright 2014. Natasha Foreman Bryant. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha Foreman Bryant, unless otherwise noted. breakingbreadwithnatasha.com Copyright 2009-2013 under Natasha L. Foreman, unless otherwise noted.
 
 Scripture quotations marked HCSB are taken from the Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003 by Holman Bible Publishers. Used by permission. Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Holman CSB®, and HCSB® are federally registered trademarks of Holman Bible Publishers.
 
 
 

Leave a Reply

