Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 3.26.14

Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven.

Matthew 5:16 KJVA

Pray
Father touch my heart and mind to be free in who I am as Your child. Touch me to find comfort in being free in my faith, and not fearful of who I am and to Whom I belong. Help me to shine brightly Your light from within so that all others see is You. Help me to help cultivate the environment in every space that You seek. Help me to reach out to others so that they too find comfort in revealing and expressing who they are, and the Truth within them. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

Reflection
First let me start off by praying for the victims and the families involved in the mud slide in Washington. I pray for their protection, comfort, healing, and restoration through God’s will. We can’t control who lives and who passes on to the next level of existence, but we can surround those impacted by disaster with love and support through their grieving and healing phases. Please join me in sending well wishes to those families.

Now consider this disaster and how your faith is tested. Consider how you involve yourself in conversations at work when questions of life, death, and God’s involvement in both are mentioned. Do you speak passionately about your beliefs or do you sit idly by, nervous to engage because you don’t want to be labeled or criticized?

In most workplaces one’s religion is off limits, and practicing said religion at work is prohibited. How can we talk about the principles that represent God (love, life, truth, dignity, respect, honesty, faithfulness, kindness, and honor) yet we shy away or forcefully stay away from openly sharing God, and our relationship with Him?

Funny thing, many companies refrain from incorporating most of God’s reflective principles in the workplace. That tells me that senior leaders either don’t see the need to lay the foundation and build upon it, or they are fearful to do so because they fear the outcomes and possible repercussions. So maybe you feel uncomfortable saying that your company is Christ-centered, but couldn’t you establish guiding principles and statements based on love, truth, dignity, respect, etc.?

Couldn’t you establish or realign your company to be open and accepting of all religious faiths, and encourage employees to be open about who they are and what they believe, as long as they are not disruptive and antagonistic? Wouldn’t recruitment of people who are inclusive and accepting of others create a nurturing and rewarding environment? Wouldn’t an environment filled with leaders who treat others with love, respect and dignity be one in which every person would desire to come into work each day?

Considering all of this I have decided to clearly distinguish my companies as ones based on God’s principles, and not just casually highlight my beliefs (in my bio) as though they are separate from the companies that I formed. I am accepting of all of God’s children, whether they see and engage with Him the same way that I do or not. I want an organization based on love, respect, and dignity for all, and I want my employees, contractors, clients, vendors, and partners to be wrapped up in a huge burrito based upon these principles. I must let God’s light shine!

Questions of the Day
1. In what ways are you hesitant to combine your faith with your work?

2. After reading today’s post, in what ways are you now more comfortable with combining faith with your work?

3. Does the company where you work have a culture that supports faith in the workplace?

4. How does the presence or lack of faith (or religious freedom) at your job make you feel?

5. Why do you fear posting answers, prayers, comments, and reflections on this post?

Feel free to share your answers, prayers, comments, and reflections in the comment section below. You can also send me an email at: breakingbreadwithnatasha@gmail.com

Please also feel free to share this post with others. We’re never quite sure who needs to hear and see what, and when! It would be awesome if whenever you run across a prayer, message, or scripture that moves you, you would kindly share it with the rest of us. You can post it on this blog or send me an email.

It’s Wednesday. No need to slack off and get comfy, keep pressing forward!

~Natasha

Copyright 2013-2014. Natasha Foreman Bryant. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha Foreman Bryant, unless otherwise noted. Prior posts from 2009-2013 are copyrighted under the name Natasha L. Foreman. breakingbreadwithnatasha.com

Leave a Reply

