Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 9.18.14

God responded to Leah. She became pregnant and gave birth to a fifth son for Jacob. Leah said, “God gave me what I paid for, what I deserved for giving my servant to my husband.” So she named him Issachar. Leah became pregnant again and gave birth to a sixth son for Jacob, and she said, “God has given me a wonderful gift. Now my husband will honor me since I’ve borne him six sons.” So she named him Zebulun. After this, she gave birth to a daughter and named her Dinah.

Then God remembered Rachel, responded to her, and let her conceive. She became pregnant and gave birth to a son and said, “God has taken away my shame.” She named him Joseph, saying to herself, May the Lord give me another son. After Rachel gave birth to Joseph, Jacob said to Laban, “Send me off so that I can go to my own place and my own country. Give me my wives and children whom I’ve worked for, and I will go. You know the work I’ve done for you.” Laban said to him, “Do me this favor. I’ve discovered by a divine sign that the Lord has blessed me because of you, so name your price and I will pay it.” Jacob said to him, “You know how I’ve worked for you, and how well your livestock have done with me.

Laban said, “What will I pay you?” Jacob said, “Don’t pay me anything. If you will do this for me, I will take care of your flock again, and keep a portion. I will go through the entire flock today, taking out all of the speckled and spotted sheep, all of the black male lambs, and all of the spotted and speckled female goats. That will be my price.

Laban said, “All right; let’s do it.” However, on that very day Laban took out the striped and spotted male goats and all of the speckled and spotted female goats—any with some white in it—and all of the black male lambs, and gave them to his sons. He put a three-day trip between himself and Jacob, while Jacob was watching the rest of Laban’s flock.

Genesis‬ ‭30‬:‭17-29, 31-32, 34-36‬ CEB

Pray
I pray for peace, discernment, clarity, and strength. Help me to both see and act upon all that is needed to steer me clear from drama, and make me a better servant to You. I humbly pray to You this day and every day. Amen.

Reflection
Now do you see where Rachel and Leah get their crooked ways from? Yes, their father. Never satisfied with their blessings, the three of them will deceive, manipulate, conspire, and bully to get what they want. How crazy is that?

Questions of the Day
1. Would you have committed as many years as Jacob did to working Laban’s farm and cattle, just to marry Rachel?
2. Do you think Jacob would have been so determined and committed to working Laban’s farm and cattle if he didn’t find Rachel to be visually attractive?
3. If Jacob had initially given Leah the attention she craved do you think that she and Rachel would have turned into baby making machines and brokers (remember they had their servants get pregnant by Jacob also)?
4. What lesson(s) have you learned so far from this story?

Feel free to share your answers, prayers, comments, and reflections in the comment section below. You can also send me an email at: breakingbreadwithnatasha@gmail.com

Please also feel free to share this post with others. We’re never quite sure who needs to hear and see what, and when! It would be awesome if whenever you run across a prayer, message, or scripture that moves you, you would kindly share it with the rest of us. You can post it on this blog or send me an email.

Love always,
Natasha

Copyright 2013-2014. Natasha Foreman Bryant. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha Foreman Bryant, unless otherwise noted. Prior posts from 2009-2013 are copyrighted under the name Natasha L. Foreman. breakingbreadwithnatasha.com

Scripture quotations taken from the Amplified® Bible,
Copyright © 1954, 1958, 1962, 1964, 1965, 1987 by The Lockman Foundation Used by permission.(www.Lockman.org)

Scripture taken from the Common English Bible®, CEB® Copyright © 2010, 2011 by Common English Bible.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide. The “CEB” and “Common English Bible” trademarks are registered in the United States Patent and Trademark Office by Common English Bible. Use of either trademark requires the permission of Common English Bible.

Scripture quotations marked HCSB are taken from the Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003 by Holman Bible Publishers. Used by permission. Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Holman CSB®, and HCSB® are federally registered trademarks of Holman Bible Publishers.

Leave a Reply

