Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 11.24.14

It’s no Surprise to God

TODAY’S SCRIPTURE
“ ‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.’ ”
(Jeremiah 29:11, NIV)

TODAY’S WORD from Joel and Victoria
In life, we all experience things that are unexpected. But when something unplanned happens, we have to realize that it’s no surprise to God.

Maybe you are dealing with some sort of loss. It hit you unexpectedly. You could be discouraged and overwhelmed and say, “I can’t believe this is happening.” No, have a new perspective. That situation is no surprise to God. It didn’t catch Him off guard. He has already anointed you. You have the strength you need. You have the peace, the determination, the confidence. You’re not lacking. You’re anointed! The forces that are for you are greater than the forces that are against you.

In those difficult times, trust that God will see you through. Believe that His plans for your future are for good. Know that even though something caught you off guard, it didn’t catch God off guard. He is prepared and ready to lead you to the place of victory.

A PRAYER FOR TODAY
Father, thank You for Your hand of goodness on my life. I know that You see every unexpected and uncertain circumstance in my life. I trust that You will go before me and prepare the way for victory in Jesus’ name. Amen.
— Joel & Victoria Osteen

Natasha’s Reflection
Last weekend I made the decision to take a trip to my home state of California so I could relax, spend quality time with family, and see a few friends. The day I decided to go I ended up getting sick with hay wired symptoms but I was still determined to go. So I got plenty of rest and allowed my body the time to heal. The next day I felt better and boarded the plane.

But last Tuesday I found myself in the emergency room at a California hospital. My body was out of wack. After four hours of testing my results came back almost perfect. On paper I was probably the healthiest person there. So what was going on with my body? Doctor’s best guess was stress.

I was caught off guard but God wasn’t. I hadn’t been listening to Him or my body. I had been going through some personal battles that were taking its toll on me mentally and emotionally, and I wasn’t paying attention to the physical manifestation. But a visit to the ER got me to listen.

I spoke with my mom and aunt Debbie that day and the next. They prayed for me and gave me spiritual and plain-and-simple human counsel. I needed to stop participating in the chaos, and just listen and obey God.

So I took it extremely slow the rest of the week. I got plenty of rest each day and didn’t boggle myself down with schedules and a mounting workload. I just allowed myself the space and time to breathe.

I tuned into my instincts, my gut feeling, that still small voice within—all of which is God. I took the counsel of my beloved aunt Debbie and let God guide me every step of my day, doing what felt right (God’s standards) not just what felt good (human instant gratification).

By doing what felt right I always felt good. By being obedient I was rewarded with internal peace, which gave me joy.

That was the balance, the peace, the wholeness I was missing. That is what I needed to deal with personal battles. That is the reason I got blindsided. But God has me so I’m more than just okay, I’m good. I’m heading to great. I’m listening more, obeying more, walking farther, and I’m starting to breathe.

Natasha’s Questions of the Day
1.What do you think about today’s message?
2. What has recently blindsided you?
3. What have you been battling long-term that you now are beginning to see from a different lens?
4. What are you dealing with that you’re not at peace with?
5. What things, issues, circumstances, and/or people are you ready to turn over to God, you just don’t know how?
6. Are any of your emotional and mental ‘stuff’ manifesting as physical ‘junk’?

Feel free to share your answers, prayers, comments, and reflections in the comment section below. You can also send me an email at: breakingbreadwithnatasha@gmail.com

Please also feel free to share this post with others. We’re never quite sure who needs to hear and see what, and when! It would be awesome if whenever you run across a prayer, message, or scripture that moves you, you would kindly share it with the rest of us. You can post it on this blog or send me an email.

Love always,
Natasha

Copyright 2013-2014. Natasha Foreman Bryant. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha Foreman Bryant, unless otherwise noted. Prior posts from 2009-2013 are copyrighted under the name Natasha L. Foreman. breakingbreadwithnatasha.com

Scripture quotations taken from the Amplified® Bible,
Copyright © 1954, 1958, 1962, 1964, 1965, 1987 by The Lockman Foundation Used by permission.(www.Lockman.org)

Scripture taken from the Common English Bible®, CEB® Copyright © 2010, 2011 by Common English Bible.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide. The “CEB” and “Common English Bible” trademarks are registered in the United States Patent and Trademark Office by Common English Bible. Use of either trademark requires the permission of Common English Bible.

Scripture quotations marked HCSB are taken from the Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003 by Holman Bible Publishers. Used by permission. Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Holman CSB®, and HCSB® are federally registered trademarks of Holman Bible Publishers.

Leave a Reply

