Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 1.20.15

Then the LORD saw that the wickedness of man was great on the earth, and that every intent of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually. The LORD was sorry that He had made man on the earth, and He was grieved in His heart. The LORD said, “I will blot out man whom I have created from the face of the land, from man to animals to creeping things and to birds of the sky; for I am sorry that I have made them.” But Noah found favor in the eyes of the LORD.

Now the earth was corrupt in the sight of God, and the earth was filled with violence. God looked on the earth, and behold, it was corrupt; for all flesh had corrupted their way upon the earth. Then God said to Noah, “The end of all flesh has come before Me; for the earth is filled with violence because of them; and behold, I am about to destroy them with the earth. Make for yourself an ark of gopher wood; you shall make the ark with rooms, and shall cover it inside and out with pitch.

Behold, I, even I am bringing the flood of water upon the earth, to destroy all flesh in which is the breath of life, from under heaven; everything that is on the earth shall perish. But I will establish My covenant with you; and you shall enter the ark-you and your sons and your wife, and your sons’ wives with you. And of every living thing of all flesh, you shall bring two of every kind into the ark, to keep them alive with you; they shall be male and female.

Thus Noah did; according to all that God had commanded him, so he did.

‭Genesis‬ ‭6‬:‭5-8, 11-14, 17-19, 22‬ NASB

Pray
Forgive me Father for not being strong, brave, and obedient like Noah. Forgive me for thinking more about my feelings and my inability to see human loss as spiritual gains. Forgive my weaknesses Lord. I truly do not want to disappoint You. Amen.

Reflection
How faithful am I to our Heavenly Father? How faithful are you? Are you unwavering in your commitment to do as He says regardless of the perceived human impact?

Consider this:
Noah had friends, neighbors, and extended family members when God told him to build the ark. Noah knew that God intended to flood the entire earth and in that flooding all humans would be killed. Noah had to look into the eyes of people he knew and loved, and people he never met, and not say a word. Noah had to look at newborn babies, toddlers, and children with big dreams—and not say a word. He also had to trust that the dimensions and specifications that God gave him for the ark would be sufficient for he and his family, and all of the animals God requested.

Noah had to do all of this without questioning God. He didn’t defy God and smuggle his other family members and friends on board, which would make him feel better, and ensure a faster repopulation of humans once the flood went away. Instead he obeyed. Could you?

I must admit that I don’t think I would have done even a decent job with this. I don’t think I have what it takes, the fortitude and conviction, to sit back and watch my other family members and friends run for their lives just to painfully drown. My human connection is my weakness, my Achilles heel, that prevents me from being the believer that Noah was.

Questions of the Day
1.What would you like to add to today’s prayer and/or reflection?
2. What do you think about today’s message?
3. Are you like Noah or more cowardly like me?
4. In what ways can you step out of your way and be more like Noah?

Feel free to share your answers, prayers, comments, and reflections in the comment section below. You can also send me an email at: breakingbreadwithnatasha@gmail.com

Please also feel free to share this post with others. We’re never quite sure who needs to hear and see what, and when! It would be awesome if whenever you run across a prayer, message, or scripture that moves you, you would kindly share it with the rest of us. You can post it on this blog or send me an email.

Love always,
Natasha

Copyright 2013-2015. Natasha Foreman Bryant. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha Foreman Bryant, unless otherwise noted. Prior posts from 2009-2013 are copyrighted under the name Natasha L. Foreman. breakingbreadwithnatasha.com

Scripture quotations taken from the Amplified® Bible,
Copyright © 1954, 1958, 1962, 1964, 1965, 1987 by The Lockman Foundation Used by permission.(www.Lockman.org)

Scripture taken from the Common English Bible®, CEB® Copyright © 2010, 2011 by Common English Bible.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide. The “CEB” and “Common English Bible” trademarks are registered in the United States Patent and Trademark Office by Common English Bible. Use of either trademark requires the permission of Common English Bible.

Scripture quotations marked HCSB are taken from the Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003 by Holman Bible Publishers. Used by permission. Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Holman CSB®, and HCSB® are federally registered trademarks of Holman Bible Publishers.

Leave a Reply

