Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 1.23.15

“You have heard that it was said, ‘YOU SHALL LOVE YOUR NEIGHBOR and hate your enemy.’ But I say to you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, so that you may be sons of your Father who is in heaven; for He causes His sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous. For if you love those who love you, what reward do you have? Do not even the tax collectors do the same? If you greet only your brothers, what more are you doing than others? Do not even the Gentiles do the same?

Matthew‬ ‭5‬:‭43-47‬ NASB

Pray
Father please give me the strength to love my enemies, to love those who have intentionally harmed me, maliciously deceived me, those who have taken what is mine or trespassed against me without concern for my wellbeing or repentance for even the unforeseen harm. Help me to see them as Jesus instructed. Help me to love them as You love all. You know my weaknesses Father, help me. In Jesus’ name I humbly pray. Amen.

Reflection
Imagine loving (as Jesus commanded) the spouse who cheated on you; the mistress(es) of your spouse; the burglar who broke into your home; the rapist who stole a piece of you; the car jacker or purse snatcher; the pick pocket who had a shopping spree at your expense; the child molester; the person who siphoned away your retirement fund; the psychopath who gets their kicks off of mentally and physically torturing others; the con artist who swindled you out of your savings; the company who made a profit selling you products and/or services that they knew were inferior; the murderer who self-determined that someone else’s life wasn’t worth living–imagine loving them as you would love a family member and friend.

Can you bring yourself to be so enlightened, so strong, so honorable?

I’m not there yet. That’s why I pray to God. That’s why I pray that He helps me to get there, to see that my love for others is less about them and more about me–because my ability to love even those I find unlovable, means that I’m closer to God–and isn’t that what most of us seek and desire?

I’m a work in progress. How about you?

Questions of the Day
1.What are your thoughts about today’s message?
2. Why do you think it is possible or impossible to love your enemy as Jesus taught?
3. Please share any testimonies that you have where you have turned to loving an enemy, and what came from this act of forgiveness and love.

Feel free to share your answers, prayers, comments, and reflections in the comment section below. You can also send me an email at: breakingbreadwithnatasha@gmail.com

Please also feel free to share this post with others. We’re never quite sure who needs to hear and see what, and when! It would be awesome if whenever you run across a prayer, message, or scripture that moves you, you would kindly share it with the rest of us. You can post it on this blog or send me an email.

Love always,
Natasha

Copyright 2013-2015. Natasha Foreman Bryant. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha Foreman Bryant, unless otherwise noted. Prior posts from 2009-2013 are copyrighted under the name Natasha L. Foreman. breakingbreadwithnatasha.com

Scripture quotations taken from the Amplified® Bible,
Copyright © 1954, 1958, 1962, 1964, 1965, 1987 by The Lockman Foundation Used by permission.(www.Lockman.org)

Scripture taken from the Common English Bible®, CEB® Copyright © 2010, 2011 by Common English Bible.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide. The “CEB” and “Common English Bible” trademarks are registered in the United States Patent and Trademark Office by Common English Bible. Use of either trademark requires the permission of Common English Bible.

Scripture quotations marked HCSB are taken from the Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003 by Holman Bible Publishers. Used by permission. Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Holman CSB®, and HCSB® are federally registered trademarks of Holman Bible Publishers.

Leave a Reply

