Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 7.21.15

Scripture
“I am disgusted with my life. I will express my complaint and speak in the bitterness of my soul. I will say to God: “Do not declare me guilty! Let me know why You prosecute me.
Do You have eyes of flesh, or do You see as a human sees?
“Your hands shaped me and formed me. Will You now turn and destroy me?
You gave me life and faithful love, and Your care has guarded my life.
“Why did You bring me out of the womb? I should have died and never been seen.
Are my days not few? Stop it! Leave me alone, so that I can smile a little before I go to a land of darkness and gloom, never to return.”
‭‭Job‬ ‭10:1-2, 4, 8, 12, 18, 20-21‬ ‭HCSB‬‬
Pray
Father thank You for this day. I’m not sure what You have planned for me, but I will try to remain present, aware, and receptive. I know that it is a joke to try to understand and make sense of Your ways, and only in my ignorance and weakness do I continue to try. Forgive me Father. Forgive me for my fears, worry, and complaints. Humbly I pray to You, giving You all the glory. Amen. 
Reflection
It appears as though Job put some thought into the questions that he wanted to ask God, but would he truly be satisfied with the answers he would receive? 
In Job’s limited capacity he thought that his questions were deep enough, sufficient enough, and specific enough to get the granular answers that would supposedly resolve his dilemma and explain why he was seemingly being punished. But I believe that even if God answered him in the specifics that he desired, Job would still have more questions. He’d still want to know, “why?” and “why me?” and “why was my level and depth of righteousness insufficient in Your eyes?”
Job did what most of us do, he defined and placed book ends and benchmarks on what he believed were the parameters of righteousness, goodness, and the path to heaven—all of which was done in his limited understanding of God and His requirements for man and woman. 
The most difficult thing for us to comprehend and embrace is that only in our full surrender to God, in allowing whatever to happen whenever it needs to happen, and praising Him before, during, and after it happens—only then have we passed the multitude of tests. 
No question, no doubt, no hesitation, no negotiation, just being an active participant and trusting that God will not only see you through but will reward you beyond your wildest imagination. The vast majority of us will fail this test. But God still loves us anyway. Our tests of the mind, heart, spirit, body, and soul, reveal everything about us. 
Some of us are stronger and have more faith than others, but only a few go through the valleys, mountains, traps, pits, floods, storms, and fire—and during and after the tribulation God can still hear His praises coming from the mouths of His tested servants. I can’t say if I will be one of the few or one of the many. My focus today is being grateful for today, and praising God for this moment. If I fail any tests today, I pray that God sees in my heart what I believe to be there—love for Him and a desire to do right, live right, and be right in His eyes. 
Questions of the Day
1. What do you think of today’s message?
2. What would you like to add to today’s prayer and/or reflection?
3. If you were in the same or similar situation as Job and considered it appropriate to ask God questions about your perceived “punishment”, what questions would you want God to answer?
4. If you asked God questions about why you were seemingly being punished, would you be satisfied with His answers, or would you find yourself asking more until exhausted?
5. Why do you think it is wise or unwise, justifiable or unjustifiable to question God?

Feel free to share your answers, prayers, comments, and reflections in the comment section below. You can also send me an email at: breakingbreadwithnatasha@gmail.com 
Please also feel free to share this post with others. We’re never quite sure who needs to hear and see what, and when! It would be awesome if whenever you run across a prayer, message, or scripture that moves you, you would kindly share it with the rest of us. You can post it on this blog or send me an email. 
Love always,

Natasha

Copyright 2013-2015. Natasha Foreman Bryant. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha Foreman Bryant, unless otherwise noted. Prior posts from 2009-2013 are copyrighted under the name Natasha L. Foreman. breakingbreadwithnatasha.com
Scripture quotations taken from the Amplified® Bible,

Copyright © 1954, 1958, 1962, 1964, 1965, 1987 by The Lockman Foundation Used by permission.(www.Lockman.org)
Scripture taken from the Common English Bible®, CEB® Copyright © 2010, 2011 by Common English Bible.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide. The “CEB” and “Common English Bible” trademarks are registered in the United States Patent and Trademark Office by Common English Bible. Use of either trademark requires the permission of Common English Bible.
Scripture quotations marked HCSB are taken from the Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003 by Holman Bible Publishers. Used by permission. Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Holman CSB®, and HCSB® are federally registered trademarks of Holman Bible Publishers.

‭‭

Leave a Reply

