Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer and Reflection for 8.4.15

Scripture 
“So these three men quit answering Job, because he was righteous in his own eyes. Then Elihu son of Barachel the Buzite from the family of Ram became angry. He was angry at Job because he had justified himself rather than God. He was also angry at Job’s three friends because they had failed to refute him and yet had condemned him.
So Elihu son of Barachel the Buzite replied: I am young in years, while you are old; therefore I was timid and afraid to tell you what I know. I thought that age should speak and maturity should teach wisdom.
It is not only the old who are wise or the elderly who understand how to judge.
I paid close attention to you. Yet no one proved Job wrong; not one of you refuted his arguments.”
“But now, Job, pay attention to my speech, and listen to all my words.
The Spirit of God has made me, and the breath of the Almighty gives me life.
I am just like you before God; I was also pinched off from a piece of clay.
But I tell you that you are wrong in this matter, since God is greater than man.
For God speaks time and again, but a person may not notice it. In a dream, a vision in the night, when deep sleep falls on people as they slumber on their beds,
God spares his soul from the Pit, his life from crossing the river of death.”

‭‭

‭‭Job‬ ‭32:1-3, 6-7, 9, 12‬ ‭HCSB‬‬

Job‬ ‭33:1, 4, 6, 12, 14-15, 18‬ ‭HCSB‬‬
Pray
Father thank You for this day. A blessing from You. Father I read Elihu’s words and I think of the wisdom imparted on youth, that shock the minds and stir the souls of the older generations who sit in awe. May I hear and embrace wisdom even from the least expected source. Keep me open-minded and receptive. I pray for discernment and that my heart always be kept warm. I pray to be a reflection that brings You pride and not disappointment. I thank You for all that You have done and provided, and all that You will do and provide in the future. 
As a believer in Christ, I pray to You today and always. Amen. 
Reflection

Imagine that, a youngster with wisdom, discernment, and insight. I’m sure none of the older men expected that level and intensity of intervention, especially not from Elihu. What if they hadn’t given him the opportunity to speak? 
Think of the young voices that have been silenced over the years, silenced even today. We place limits on people’s capability and capacity, according to our determination, but what if we are the limited ones?
How many voices do we stifle that should be heard? 

Questions of the Day
1. What do you think of today’s message?
2. What would you like to add to today’s prayer and/or reflection?
3. What do you think of Elihu and his message?

Feel free to share your answers, prayers, comments, and reflections in the comment section below. You can also send me an email at: breakingbreadwithnatasha@gmail.com 
Please also feel free to share this post with others. We’re never quite sure who needs to hear and see what, and when! It would be awesome if whenever you run across a prayer, message, or scripture that moves you, you would kindly share it with the rest of us. You can post it on this blog or send me an email. 
Love always,

Natasha

Copyright 2013-2015. Natasha Foreman Bryant. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha Foreman Bryant, unless otherwise noted. Prior posts from 2009-2013 are copyrighted under the name Natasha L. Foreman. breakingbreadwithnatasha.com
Scripture quotations taken from the Amplified® Bible,

Copyright © 1954, 1958, 1962, 1964, 1965, 1987 by The Lockman Foundation Used by permission.(www.Lockman.org)
Scripture taken from the Common English Bible®, CEB® Copyright © 2010, 2011 by Common English Bible.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide. The “CEB” and “Common English Bible” trademarks are registered in the United States Patent and Trademark Office by Common English Bible. Use of either trademark requires the permission of Common English Bible.
Scripture quotations marked HCSB are taken from the Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003 by Holman Bible Publishers. Used by permission. Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Holman CSB®, and HCSB® are federally registered trademarks of Holman Bible Publishers.

Leave a Reply

