Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 1.20.17

Today’s scripture was shared yesterday by my cousin, Princess, so I decided to share it for today’s Breaking Bread message. 

Scripture

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.

‭‭Psalms‬ ‭23:1-6‬ ‭KJV‬‬

Prayer

Father thank You for the daily provisions, the blessing of a new day, Your guiding Voice, and Your constant love. I’m humbly grateful. 

Strengthen me Father. I know that I can handle what the enemy is bombarding me with, because each day You strengthen me to rise and face what’s before me. 

You have kept me clothed, fed, healthy, and safe. Even when those who treat me like an enemy, refuse peace and choose instead to continue their triangular attacks, You bring me comfort and clarity. Help me to discern all that is around me, even the smiling faces that may be masquerading wolves, help me to see and make clear. In Jesus’ name. Amen. 

Reflection

I’ve seen some pretty dark days in my life; book-worthy reflections of times when I felt alone and punished–but knowing that even then, God was there protecting me from far worse. 

Today I face some extreme challenges, attacks from people I never expected to do me harm, and fears facing me head on. 

Do you know the old saying, “what you think about, you bring about“? Well we can actually bring about the very things we fear. They can manifest before us, paralyze us from forward progress, and temporarily slow down God’s plan for us. 

Fear is false-evidence-appearing-real. When we let that false evidence consume us, we block out God’s voice. Eventually our fears become real-life nightmares. You wake up each morning, go to bed each night, and fill your day…obsessively fearing something. When your days are filled with panic, then where is there room for God’s peace?

Think of all of the times God has guided you out of bad situations, saved you from the grasp of the enemy, and showed you mercy that you wouldn’t even consider granting to another person. Yet you allow fear to rule and dictate to you. 

God is never on vacation. He doesn’t get sick or grow tired. He doesn’t throw temper tantrums and storm off refusing to engage with anyone. God doesn’t give the silent treatment. God doesn’t ignore our prayers. He doesn’t shut down and tune us out. He doesn’t play the game of tit-for-tat. God doesn’t thrive on chaos and live for drama. 

God is Love and Love is God. That Love encircles us, protects us, strengthens our faith, restores and builds our hope and trust, purges us of impurities, and molds us into the servants that He desires for His Kingdom. 

So when you and I face uphill battles, that’s God’s voice lovingly encouraging to press on. When we are being attacked by loved ones, enemies, and the ultimate enemy—it is God who is guiding us to go to the high ground when our attacker is aiming low. It is God looking back at us through the innocent eyes of children. He is present in the joyous song that makes You want to praise Him. He is the peace that comes when you just slow down and allow yourself to be still in silence. 

I don’t know when this rough road I’m on will become smooth. But I’m confident that God surrounds me, knows what’s ahead, and is preparing me for my victory. I pray that you have this same confidence in Him, not just when you can see the Light, but throughout your darkest hours. 

Questions of the Day

1. What would you like to add to today’s prayer and/or reflection?

2. What are your thoughts about today’s message?

3. What issues are you fighting to protect from the enemy’s attack?

4. What cares, worries, and fears are you ready to turn over to God?

5. Who would you like to pray for today?

6. Do you have a testimony that you would like to share? Please do.

Feel free to share your answers, prayers, comments, and reflections in the comment section below. You can also send me an email at: breakingbreadwithnatasha@gmail.com

Please also feel free to share this post with others. We’re never quite sure who needs to hear and see what, and when! It would be awesome if whenever you run across a prayer, message, or scripture that moves you, you would kindly share it with the rest of us. You can post it on this blog or send me an email.

Love always,

Natasha

Copyright 2013-2017. Natasha Foreman Bryant. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha Foreman Bryant, unless otherwise noted. Prior posts from 2009-2013 are copyrighted under the name Natasha L. Foreman. breakingbreadwithnatasha.com

Scripture quotations taken from the Amplified® Bible, Copyright © 1954, 1958, 1962, 1964, 1965, 1987 by The Lockman Foundation Used by permission.(www.Lockman.org)

Scripture taken from the Common English Bible®, CEB® Copyright © 2010, 2011 by Common English Bible.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide. The “CEB” and “Common English Bible” trademarks are registered in the United States Patent and Trademark Office by Common. English Bible. Use of either trademark requires the permission of Common English Bible.

Scripture quotations marked HCSB are taken from the Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003 by Holman Bible Publishers. Used by permission. Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Holman CSB®, and HCSB® are federally registered trademarks of Holman Bible Publishers.

2 thoughts on “Natasha’s Daily Scripture, Prayer, and Reflection for 1.20.17

  1. Princess says:

    1 Samuel 17:32-37

    32 David said to Saul, “Let no one lose heart on account of this Philistine; your servant will go and fight him.”

    33 Saul replied, “You are not able to go out against this Philistine and fight him; you are only a young man, and he has been a warrior from his youth.”

    34 But David said to Saul, “Your servant has been keeping his father’s sheep. When a lion or a bear came and carried off a sheep from the flock, 35 I went after it, struck it and rescued the sheep from its mouth. When it turned on me, I seized it by its hair, struck it and killed it. 36 Your servant has killed both the lion and the bear; this uncircumcised Philistine will be like one of them, because he has defied the armies of the living God. 37 The Lord who rescued me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear will rescue me from the hand of this Philistine.”

    Saul said to David, “Go, and the Lord be with you.”

    And you know the rest of the story…

    I say to you, the Lord is with you and you are prepared! I don’t suggest killing anyone, but fight the good fight.

    Ephesians 6:10-11New International Version (NIV)

    The Armor of God

    10 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.

    Love you,
    Princess

Leave a Reply

