Breaking Bread For 9.22.22

Audio Option

Please click on the audio player below to listen to today’s message. Thank you!

Scripture

“But to you who are listening I say: Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you….”

Luke 6:27-28

Reflection

An injured animal will lash out in pain. Humans do the same. When we are hurt, mad, sad, disappointed, fed up, frustrated, and in pain, we lash out, thinking it will protect us from feeling worse than we already do. We lash out at others so that they can feel our pain. Sometimes, some people want others to feel worse than they do, so they go to extremes to hurt others. The crazy thing is even after releasing all of that negative energy onto someone else, we still don’t truly feel any better— sometimes, we feel worse.

Instead of mistreating others because we don’t feel good about ourselves or what’s going on in our lives, why don’t we instead turn to God and seek His loving guidance, and then seek out positive, loving, uplifting, and enlightening people who speak peace not vengeance?

Instead of hating your enemy, love them. You’re not told to be pen pals or to be buddy-buddy and go on vacation with them. You’re told to love them, just as God loves you —despite your foolishness. Love them for their ignorance and fear because you know that it’s because they have closed God out of their lives that they barely survive in darkness.

Pray that they seek and embrace God to be whole in His Light. Let your cup run over so that even your enemies are blessed because it’s easy to love, pray for, and bless your treasured family and friends. The true test is doing it for someone who despises you and you, them.

Prayer

Father, thank You. Thank you for Your grace today and each day. Thank You for comforting me when I am down, weak, distraught, frustrated, tired, dismayed, confused, disappointed, and angered. Thank You for protecting me from people and things that could harm me. Thank You for turning away my enemies. Thank You for showing me how to protect myself rather than seek revenge.

Father, I pray today for those who hate me, curse me, and mistreat me—whether they personally know me or not. I pray for those who use their power to try and rob me of mine. I pray that You touch their hearts and minds, and that You hold their tongues so that they might think before they speak; think before they tell lies, cast doubt, or curse others. Let their held tongues cause them to recognize and repent their ways and wrongdoings that they might immediately change in Your goodness. I pray to You as Your humble, grateful, and faith-filled child. Amen.

Loving you always,

Natasha 

Copyright 2011-2022. Natasha L. Foreman. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha L. Foreman. BreakingBreadWithNatasha.com

Music: Climb by Shane Ivers; Quiescent In Time by Shane Ivers – https://www.silvermansound.com

Author: Natasha

I'm a servant leader, consultant, educator, author, blogger and podcaster. My SEEK HIM 3-volume book series and workbooks can be purchased through Bookshop.org, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Walmart, and other global retailers. Check out my publisher's website for details: DomeLifePublishing.com Support local bookstores by shopping online with Bookshop.org

Leave a comment