Breaking Bread For 5.19.24

Today’s Theme: The Recklessness of Uncontrolled Anger

Audio Option

Please click on the audio player below to listen to today’s message. You can fast-forward past the intro and get straight to the message by clicking the play button and then the 30-second fast-forward button on the audio player. Thank you!

https://www.spreaker.com/episode/breaking-bread-for-may-19–59440977

Scripture

My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, because human anger does not produce the righteousness that God desires.

James 1:19-20

Reflection

A child of God should be strengthened in His Word and by the example of His son Jesus Christ. We should have the discernment to see, hear, feel, and know when things are wrong and not of God. We should have the discernment to see, hear, feel, and know when we are being moved toward darkness.

We should be disciplined enough to turn away from darkness and not give in to anger and rage. Pray for the strength to be more loving even when others aren’t (being) loving to you. As the old adage goes, “If you have nothing good to say, then say nothing at all.” We should practice this daily so as not to fall into the enemy’s trap.

The enemy wants you to be caught up in chaos and confusion. Don’t give in to that foolishness. Turn the mess over to God. I struggle with this as I’m quick to want to put someone in their place, but that’s not my role or assignment. The moment my words are fueled by anger, I’ve lost, and the enemy has won. I’m now not right in Truth, even if I may be right in fact.

Let that absorb in your mind and heart.

Prayer

Father, help me to listen more intently and purposely. Open my eyes to see the things I overlook, and help me to clearly discern what’s before me. I pray that I stop to think before I speak so that only loving words come from my mouth. I hope that I turn to You so that my emotions don’t bubble out of control, and grow to anger and rage.

Father, I know that anger is not a by-product of Your love and Light. It is in weakness that a person turns to anger and violence to address their concerns and issues. It is a weak person that lashes out verbally or physically. I want to be strong in You. Touch my heart so that I can align in all ways to You. In Your Name I praise and pray. Amen.

And with that family, I pray that you are blessed, that you see and embrace your blessings, and that you are a blessing to others.

Copyright 2011-2024. Natasha L. Foreman. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha L. Foreman. BreakingBreadWithNatasha.com

Music: Climb by Shane Ivers; Quiescent In Time by Shane Ivers – https://www.silvermansound.com

Author: Natasha

I'm a servant leader, consultant, educator, author, blogger and podcaster. My SEEK HIM 3-volume book series and workbooks can be purchased through Bookshop.org, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Walmart, and other global retailers. Check out my publisher's website for details: DomeLifePublishing.com Support local bookstores by shopping online with Bookshop.org

Leave a comment