Breaking Bread For 6.11.24

Today’s Theme: With God, We Can Do This!

Audio Option

Please click on the audio player below to listen to today’s message. You can fast-forward past the intro and get straight to the message by clicking the play button, and then the 30-second fast-forward button on the audio player. Thank you!

https://www.spreaker.com/episode/breaking-bread-for-june-11–60242092

Scripture

I sought the lord, and he answered me; he delivered me from all my fears.

Psalm 34:4

Reflection

We’re all facing uphill battles this year, this quarter, this month, this week, and today. But are our battles any more difficult than those in the past? Or are they simply just more battles to overcome at a time when maybe we have less resources than in the past? Or because others are under a lot of pressure and their weight comes down on us more so than in the past? Or maybe it’s a figment of our imagination because we’re afraid. 

God is our scale, our measurer, and He carries the weights and determines what we can withstand and what we can’t. 

Here’s an excerpt from a prayer I said in 2011 that still haunts me today:

…Father, I am faced with some heavy decisions in my personal and professional life; I am faced with financial burdens and haunted by my past decisions, and by current unknowns. I’ve got more month than money, bills to pay, and although I know there is a solution to my problem, I’m blinded by fear. Father I have to make decisions about who to trust, who to associate with, and who to walk away from….

Can you feel that fear? Can you see what I allowed to consume a part of my mind and heart all those years ago? Can you see what still haunts me today? There’s a struggle with discernment and trust—the ability to sift through with clarity to identify God’s Truth from the lies and a lack of trust in myself and trust in God.

I’m just being honest and transparent.

It’s the only way for me to face my demons, face the voices that whisper all the ways that I lack, and pull myself up through the muck holding me back. I’ve come to realize, even in my fears, that when God places a lot on my back and shoulders, it’s because He knows I can handle it; He knows I can walk through the valley and up that mountaintop with that weight on my back and reach the finish line of victory. Even when I take on stuff I have no business dealing with, God still rests His hand upon me to keep the weight from toppling and crushing me.

Yes, it’s scary most of the time. Yes, it can rattle the nerves and cause your body to seize up in pain—but we can make it through. And then, hopefully, we will choose to stop adding unnecessary weight, stop trying to carry other people’s weight and stop thinking it’s your responsibility to carry another person’s yoke. Stop thinking that God just forgot to do something or tell you something.

Better yet, stop thinking so darn much. Goodness gracious, you’re probably more exhausted from overthinking more than the actual energy exerted from work. Go ahead and laugh as you admit it.

As we work through life’s lessons, we are clearing the pathway for others, for our children and generations to come; and we are making ourselves stronger so that with each obstacle we approach, we gain the courage to tell ourselves, “With God, I’ve got this.” So let’s do this. Let’s turn to each other with love in our hearts, encourage and push each other, grab each other’s hands, and look into each other’s eyes and say, “With God, we can do this!”

Prayer

Father, throughout my day I pray to You, give thanks for You, and say thank You for my many blessings. I seek You Lord, minute by minute, to help me to see things through, to help me to find my way through the distractions, knowing that the path You have set has no traps or dead-ends, but is only laid with goodness. Help me to realize my purpose in Your Kingdom and on this land.

I’m scared Father. I’m scared that I will make the wrong decisions, choosing instead to listen to another voice and not Yours. I am afraid to disappoint You and myself. Lord, deliver me from all of my fears. Calm my nerves so that I worry no more as I put my trust, confidence, and faith in You.

You are my Rock, Father. You are my Light and Salvation. With You nothing but good can come to me or go from me and that’s all that I need to know. I love You Father. Amen.

And with that family, I pray that you are blessed, that you see and embrace your blessings, and that you are a blessing to others.

Love always,

Natasha

Copyright 2011-2024. Natasha L. Foreman. Some Rights Reserved. All Prayers and Reflections are Copyright Protected by Natasha L. Foreman. BreakingBreadWithNatasha.com

Music: Climb by Shane Ivers; Quiescent In Time by Shane Ivers – https://www.silvermansound.com

Author: Natasha

I'm a servant leader, consultant, educator, author, blogger and podcaster. My SEEK HIM 3-volume book series and workbooks can be purchased through Bookshop.org, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Walmart, and other global retailers. Check out my publisher's website for details: DomeLifePublishing.com Support local bookstores by shopping online with Bookshop.org

Leave a comment